MyLogon: User's Guide

MyLogon is intended to make the process of connecting to a LAN quick and easy, even if  you normally work away  from the network for most of the time, and only occasionally connect.. It is mainly aimed at  users who have exclusive ownership of their computer, and wish to connect to one or more networks as-required.  -Or for situations where a computer is provided  to a pool of users, to perform a specific and unchanging task.

A key difference between MyLogon and the Microsoft  logon is that with MyLogon, the act of connecting to the network will not change your desktop's appearance, or alter any other settings on your own computer.  In other words, it will not reprofile your computer. It may, however, impose company policies as far as your computer's settings and software are concerned. If in doubt about possible effects on a privately-owned computer, ask first about these.

Connecting to the Network


On the main screen,  you can enter any username-and-password combination  that  exists on your network's server. 

To make the choice of username permanent, press Save.

Click the "Connect to Network" button to start the logon process. 

Following a successful logon,  you will find that network-resources have become available. Exactly what these consist of will depend  on how your admin has set-up the network, and on the level of trust associated with the username you entered. Typically you may find that  extra drive-letters have appeared in My Computer, representing the available space on the server's disks.  You may also find (for example) that other resources such as printers have become available, and that your computer's time has been automatically corrected, and its antivirus definitions updated.

Leaving the Network  (or shutting-down)

When leaving the network, you have the options of closing your desktop-session completely as per Microsoft norm, but you also have the option of only disconnecting from the network, and keeping your computer running.  This is very handy for  laptop-users, but do take note that no checks are made for open files, so if you haven't closed network files properly before disconnecting, you may lose them.

Standalone  Working


When starting your computer away from the network, or if the server is offline for any reason, what happens will depend on which mode of operation has been selected  by your admin.  If 'secure mode' has been set,  MyLogon will appear at startup and demand a password.  Normally  you can enter either the last network-password you successfully logged-on with,  or else a distinct standalone-use password which is determined in MyLogon's user-settings.  Pressing the "Work Standalone" button  will take you straight to the desktop instead of trying to contact the server.

Tip: At the startup logon-screen, you can press Enter to logon,or Esc to work standalone instead of using the mouse.

Multiple Networks


If your admin has set-up this facility, you may select from two or more networks according to which site you are on.  The available networks are in a drop-down list.  The username and password you enter must of course suit the selected network.

Connections


If you connect to the network from a remote location, often referred-to as teleworking,  you might need to activate a remote-access connection so as to establish a link to the server, before the logon-process can proceed.  Selecting a Connection other than "Direct Connection"  will automatically launch  that connection before logging you on.  Note that the "Connection" drop-down lists all the remote-connections on your computer.  Not all of these will be intended for connection to a remote LAN. Some may be for Internet access or the like.   Therefore please make sure you are using the appropriate Connection for any given network.

In case of Difficulty


The "Info..." button (or Tools->Network Info menu item) will give you information about the selected network,  and will test for a 'visible' connection to its master server.  If no connection is found then you may have a cabling (if direct) or remote-access problem, rather than a problem with your username/password.

Menu Items:


Action
Duplicates the Shutdown options of the Start Menu - with one addition, allowing disconnection without shutdown.
View
Selects which window-layout is best-suited to requirements.
Tools
Test the connection to the server

Test the standalone password (Enter the password, then select this item)

Configure MyLogon.  (Help here)

Change your Network Password (If your Administrator has activated the password-change module)
Help
Provides this, the brief form of the User Manual.  The full Admin Guide is available online.
About.. gives you version info, etc.

Some menu-items (help, for example) may not be selected until a valid password has been entered. This is by design, and is to limit the amount of assistance given to a potential intruder.

Notes:

Screensaver and Hibernation Passwords:

Unless your admin has restricted this option you can set a password for exiting from standby-conditions as usual, however please note that the password required to get out of standby and screensavers is the local password, not your network password.  If you don't know what this is, then beware of locking yourself out of the computer. If in doubt, ask your admin first.